David B. Spencer, American Astronautical Society (AAS) Vice President of Publications, and professor of aerospace engineering at Penn State, was recently awarded the 2018 International Astronautical Federation (IAF) Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal during the 2018 International Astronautical Congress in Bremen, Germany.

The Malina Medal is presented annually to an educator who has demonstrated excellence in taking the fullest advantage of the resources available to them to promote the study of astronautics and related space sciences.

Dr. Spencer is an AAS Fellow and is currently the Vice President of Publications for AAS managing the Journal of the Astronautical Sciences and other publications. His full time occupation is professor of aerospace engineering at the Penn State University College of Engineering.

AAS congratulates Dr. Spencer on this well-deserved recognition.