ISU Scholarships

American Astronautical Society Scholarship to the International Space University (ISU)

2023 Space Studies Program (SSP) or the 2023-2024 Master in Space Studies Program (MSS).

The American Astronautical Society (AAS) is pleased to offer the $10,000 Lady Mamie Ngan Memorial Scholarship for students to attend the International Space University’s 2023 Space Studies Program (SSP) in Sao Jose dos Campos, Brazil; or the 2023-2024 Master of Space Studies program conducted at the ISU Central Campus in Strasbourg, France.

Scholarship application: MS Word document, PDF

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

  • Applicants must be U.S. citizens.
  • Applicants must have completed an academic qualification at the level of the Bachelor’s degree awarded by an accredited college or university.
  • Applicants must fill out the application form and prepare a one-page essay as indicated on the form.
  • In the selection process, preference will be given to AAS members, and also to members of Students for the Exploration and Development of Space (SEDS-USA).

The successful candidate will be required to:

  • Prepare, on request, an article on the “ISU experience” for publication in the AAS Space Times magazine.
  • Be willing to serve as an AAS/ISU spokesperson at times and venues to be mutually agreed.

Scholarship Award Administration

The deadline for the AAS Business Office to receive the completed application form and essay is March 15, 2023.

Note: This is not an application for ISU admission. A separate application must be made for admission to ISU at In order to be considered for the Lady Mamie Ngan Memorial Scholarship, this separate application to ISU must meet the University’s posted deadlines.

Applications (with “ISU Scholarship 2023 – Last Name” as the subject line) should be submitted via e-mail to

Selection of Award Recipient

The decision of the Scholarship Award Committee is final and all candidates will be advised of the outcome in early April.

Disbursement of the Scholarship Award

Disbursement of the scholarship award will be made by AAS directly to the International Space University.

Scholarship Recipients:

  • 2022: Karin Metzgar, University of Southern California
  • 2021: Grant Kendall Bell, American University; Emily Apollonio, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University; Aiden O’Leary, Texas A&M University; Summer Beckworth, University of North Texas Health Science Center
  • 2020: No scholarships awarded due to pandemic
  • 2019:  Nicole Nir, DePaul University and Christine Tiballi, Southern California Institute of Architecture
  • 2018:  Barret Schlegelmilch, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2017:  Miles Bengtson, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University and Bryan Chan, Night Crew Labs
  • 2016:  Ekaterina Khvostova, George Washington University
  • 2015:  Jackelynne Silva-Martinez, NASA Johnson Space Center and Jonathan Stimmer, Teacher and Educator
  • 2014:  Brian Ramos, University of Rhode Island
  • 2013:  Charlotte Kiang, Wellesley College
  • 2012:  Julie Mason, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • 2011:  Jacob Gamsky, University of Kentucky
  • 2010:  Heather Bradshaw, University of Maryland
  • 2009:  Sara Langston, Leiden University
  • 2008:  Garrett Smith, Boston University
  • 2007:  Ian Christensen, George Washington University
  • 2006:  Kirk Kittell, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2005:  Jeffrey Kwong, Utah State University
  • 2004:  David Broniatowski, Massachusetts Institute of Technology