Officers and Directors


  • President – Ronald J. Birk, The Aerospace Corporation
  • Executive Vice President – Charlie Stegemoeller, Leidos
  • Vice President Education – Abby Dickes, Voyager Space
  • Vice President Finance – Steve Witkowski, Moog, Inc.
  • Vice President International – Kathleen Karika, Virgin Galactic
  • Vice President Membership – Bobby Watkins, Barrios Technology
  • Vice President Programs – Martin Frederick, Northrop Grumman Corporation
  • Vice President Public Policy – Lewis Groswald, Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • Vice President Publications – David B. Spencer, The Aerospace Corporation
  • Vice President Strategic Communications & Outreach – Robert H. Bishop, University of South Florida
  • Vice President Technical – Matthew Wilkins, L3Harris
  • Legal Counsel – Franceska O. Schroeder, Esq., Schroeder Law DC
  • Executive Director – Jim Way

Chairs, Editors, and Liaisons

  • AAS Publications Office – Robert H. Jacobs, Univelt, Inc.
  • Capitol Hill Liaison – Richard M. Obermann, House Committee on Science, Space, & Technology
  • Chair, Guidance & Control Committee – Ian Gravseth, Ball Aerospace
  • Chair, History Committee – Michael L. Ciancone
  • Chair, International Programs Committee – Kathleen Karika, Virgin Galactic
  • Chair, Rocky Mountain Section – Ian Gravseth, Ball Aerospace
  • Chair, Space Flight Mechanics Committee – Jeffrey R. Stuart, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Chair, Space Surveillance Committee – Ryan Coder, The Aerospace Corporation
  • Editor, The Journal of the Astronautical Sciences – Maruthi R. Akella, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Editor, Space Times – Amir S. Gohardani

Board of Directors

Term Expires 2023

  • David Alexander, Rice University Space Institute
  • Steve Arnold, JHU Applied Physics Laboratory
  • Therese Jones, Satellite Industry Association
  • Carol Lane, Cynergy, LLC
  • Zigmond V. Leszczynski, L10 Innovations
  • Charles Scales, Sierra Lobo, Inc.
  • Suneel Sheikh, ASTER Labs, Inc.
  • Brett Silcox, Astroscale

Term Expires 2024

  • Maruthi Akella, University of Texas at Austin
  • Niel Holt, Space Dynamics Laboratory / Utah State University
  • John Horack, The Ohio State University
  • Aaron Lewis, Arianespace, Inc.
  • John Shannon, The Boeing Company

Term Expires 2025

  • Russell Carpenter
  • Jacqueline Cortese, Blue Origin
  • Mike Fox, Maxar
  • Mike Gazarik, Ball Aerospace
  • Mike Gold, Redwire
  • Bristol Gunderson, Astranis Space Technologies
  • Scott Hall, Teledyne Technologies Incorporated
  • Mike Moreau
  • Susan Nelson, IBEX2 Solutions
  • David Radzanowski