Space Technology Award

 The Space Technology Award was established to recognize an outstanding achievement in space technology.

Award Criteria


  • 2020 – The OSIRIS-REx Team, for the extraordinary achievements of the OSIRIS-REx team in surveying and acquiring a sample of the asteroid Bennu over 200 million miles from earth, which will provide the science community key information in unlocking the origins of our universe. (The Space Technology Award will be presented at the 2020 AAS Robert H. Goddard Memorial Symposium taking place May 4-6, online.)
  • 2019 – Jeff Haynes and the AR-22 Team
  • 2018 – No Award Given
  • 2017 – Paul McNamara and the LISA Pathfinder Team
  • 2016 – Mary J. “Niki” Werkheiser
  • 2015 – Peter Theisinger
  • 2014 – Bobby Braun