Recently, the International Astronautical Federation (IAF) announced the recipients of the Distinguished Service Award for 2023. AAS congratulates Alan DeLuna and David Spencer for being honored with this award!

Alan DeLuna, immediate past President of AAS, was recognized for his long-time advocacy and support for the next generation and for his significant contributions in leading and inspiring global cross-generational cooperation and exploration of critical topics involving, but not limited to, space missions and architecture, technology development, and operations.

David Spencer, AAS’s current Vice President of Publications and past Vice President of Technical, was recognized for his exceptional contributions to the International Astronautical Federation as a distinguished academician, researcher, mentor, and industry leader, and for his active IAF engagement that advances international cooperation and recognizes high achievement throughout the global space community.

Congratulations Alan DeLuna and David Spencer on this distinction and thank you for your leadership within our Society!

The full list of 2023 Distinguished Service Award winners can be found here.