AAS is pleased to congratulate Dorothy Rasco and Janet Kavandi on their recent 2021 Women in Aerospace (WIA) Award. WIA is an organization dedicated to expanding women’s leadership opportunities in the aerospace community. The annual WIA Awards celebrate women’s professional exceptional impacts in aerospace.  

Dorothy Rasco won the Leadership Award from WIA. Rasco has been recognized for her leadership and dedication to NASA and Ball Aerospace. Rasco is currently serving as the Director of Engineering Operations for Ball Aerospace, an AAS Corporate Member. Rasco is also the current Vice President of Membership for AAS.  

Janet Kavandi won the Lifetime Achievement Award from WIA for her ongoing and impactful contributions to the aerospace community. In addition, Kavandi has helped further the advancement of women in the field. Kavandi is currently serving as Executive Vice President of Space Systems at Sierra Space, also an AAS Corporate Member. In addition, in her prior role as Director of the NASA Glenn Research Center, Kavandi assisted AAS tremendously in the formation of our Annual John Glenn Memorial Symposium.  


AAS congratulates Dorothy and Janet as they help to widen the path of success for women in the aerospace industry.