The Future Space Leaders Foundation announced on May 19 the five winners of its annual Future Space Leaders Grant Program. The Foundation will provide grants to five graduate students and young professionals to cover expenses associated with participating in the 65th International Astronautical Congress (IAC) in Toronto, Canada, one of the world’s most important space industry gatherings. The AAS is very pleased to coorperate with the Foundation on this activity.

The five grants winners will also have access to a selection of other industry events including: Future Space 2015, AAS Goddard Memorial Symposium, NSC Goddard Memorial Dinner, AIAA Spotlight Awards Gala, SSPI Future Leaders Dinner, Satellite 2015, International Symposium on Commercial Spaceflight (ISPCS), SGAC Congress, and Fusion Forum. After a rigorous and competitive application process, the grant winners were selected on the basis of their commitment to the advancement of space sciences and quality of their abstracts to be presented at the 65th IAC.

The 2014-15 FSLF Grant Winners are:

Alexander Burg, an engineer earning his doctorate in systems engineering at the George Washington University Space Policy Institute in Washington, D.C.; Anne Caraccio, a chemical engineer working at NASA the Kennedy Space Center in Florida;Katrina Laygo, a master’s candidate at the George Washington University Space Policy Institute in Washington, D.C.; Samantha Marquart is pursuing a PhD in Systems Engineering at George Washington University in Washington, D.C.; and Amanda Sweeney, a technology analyst with The Tauri Group in Alexandria, Virginia.