The 8th Annual Student CanSat Competition took place in Abilene and Burkett, Texas, June 8-10.  Twenty-six teams from the U.S., Canada, Mexico, Colombia, India, Turkey and United Arab Emirates successfully launched their CanSat payloads.  Teams with the highest scores and receiving cash awards were:

First Place:  Istanbul Technical University – Team UYARI (Turkey)

Second Place:  SRM University – Team WelkinSat (India)

Third Place:  Indian Institute of Technology – Team GARUDA (India)

Fourth Place:  Istanbul Technical University – Team Lagari (Turkey)

Fifth Place:  University of Michigan – Team OverEasy (USA)

The competition will return to Abilene in 2013 with new mission requirements and a revised competition guide and scoring system.  Details and dates will be announced soon; deadline for applications is November 30.