American Astronautical Society

Advancing All Space

Advancing All Space

Founded in 1954, the American Astronautical Society has long been recognized for the excellence of its national meetings, technical meetings, symposia and publications and for their impact on shaping the U.S. space program.  Members have opportunities to meet with leaders in their field and in related disciplines, exchange information and ideas, discuss career aspirations and expand their knowledge and expertise.

Latest News

January 30, 2017

Gene Cernan 1934-2017

Eugene Cernan, the last man to walk on the moon, died on January 16, surrounded by his family.  Cernan, a Captain in the U.S. Navy, left his mark on the…
Read More
December 26, 2016

Remembering Piers Sellers

On December 23rd , the AAS lost a friend to our organization, a friend to the space community, and a friend to Planet Earth. Piers Sellers’s life embodied his conviction…
Read More
December 9, 2016

Back Issues of Space Times Added to AAS Website

We have added a number of back issues from the AAS Space Times Back to the website!  Check out the full collection at or the 10 back issues from 2006,…
Read More


Join us at one of our upcoming events

Robert H. Goddard Memorial Symposium

Robert H. Goddard Memorial Symposium

Future Space: Trends, Technologies and Missions

ISS R&D Conference

ISS R&D Conference

Innovation Beyond Boundaries

Von Braun Symposium

Von Braun Symposium

Robert H. Goddard Memorial Symposium
7-9 March 2017

ISS R&D Conference
17-20 July 2017

Wernher von Braun Memorial Symposium
24 – 26 October 2017

Upcoming Events

Selected events from the space calendar

Space Symposium
April 3-6, 2017
The Broadmoor Hotel
Colorado Springs, Colorado

Humans to Mars Summit (H2M)
May 9-11, 2017
George Washington University
Washington, DC

3rd IAA Conference on Dynamics and Control of Space Systems (DyCoSS)
May 29-June 1, 2017
Moscow, Russia

Student CanSat Competition
June 9-11, 2017
Tarleton State University
Stephenville, Texas

9th International Workshop on Satellite Constellations and Formation Flight (IWSCFF)
June 19-21, 2017
The University of Colorado
Boulder, Colorado

AAS/AIAA Astrodynamics Specialist Conference
August 20-24, 2017
Stevenson, Washington
Bonus:  Watch a Total Solar Eclipse
– Abstract deadline is April 24

International Astronautical Congress (IAC)
September 25-29, 2017
Adelaide Convention Centre
Adelaide, Australia

Latest Publications

Space Times and The Journal of Astronautical Sciences


Announcements related to all annual awards and scholarship

The American Astronautical Society is the premier network of current and future space professionals dedicated to advancing all space activities.

Our Partners

We work with other companies, governments, nonprofits and organizations to advance space exploration